{Saturday, October 18, 12:25 p.m.}

Oh, how I love Capernwray. Last night, Amy, Danielle, Seth, and I
decided that instead of complaining about the rain (3 days going on 40) and
shivering in our raincoats, we should ditch the coats completely and go
jump in puddles. So we did. Of course, it’s a lot more fun to push each
other into soaking wet bushes or to kick up water behind an
unsuspecting friend or to emerge from the sunroom sipping an innocent cup of water & dump it over somebody’s head or to fill up an UMBRELLA and dump it down somebody’s pants. So we did. And then we hopped into the kitchen and found a tray full of leftover Nanaimo bars (chocolatey pudding-y creamy deliciousness) and began to scarf them down. It’s still unknown exactly how the next scuffle got started, but at any rate we were chasing each
other all over the dining room smearing chocolate on each other’s faces. With coconut squished in my hair and a smiley face “tattooed” on my forehead, I felt rather happy-go-lucky and ready to jump in puddles again – so I did. Danielle and I perfected synchronized jumping, and I experimented a little with Riverdance-en-Puddle (a sophisticated art form involving fast legwork and multitudinous splashes). [We interrupt this broadcast to inform you that as I type, Matt “Double-Wide Football Player” Jung and Nathan “Ichiban” Lowe are yelling and knocking over chairs and executing kungfu kicks in order to dispose of a bee which keeps buzzing around their heads.]

After making steam pictures on the windows of the lecture hall until Vince, Darrell, and Nathan (who were inside studying) made disturbing faces at us, Amy, Danielle and I skipped up to the De Putter Room to see what was happening there. We spent two hours playing with Kaden, the one-year-old blond blue-eyed charmer who is learning to roar like a lion, quack like a duck, and moo like a cow. A few tickle fights ensued, and when the conversation turned to comic books and Bruce Lee, I fell asleep on the couch, to be rudely awakened by Seth trying to take my socks off. At that juncture, Kim and I decided to go back to our room, where we ate jellybeans, chocolate chip cookies, hot chocolate, and Maria’s gummidrops (little licorice things). A while after midnight, it appeared good to us to turn off the light and curl up under our covers…so we did. And THAT, my friends, was a wonderful day.

5 thoughts on “

  1. But if I can’t swim after forty days and my mind is crushed by the crashing waves, lift me up so high that I cannot fall, lift me oh, oh…Lift me upWhen I’m fallingLift me upI’m weak and I’m dyingLift me upI need you to hold meLift me upAnd keep me from drowning again…The rain was pretty intense here in Bellingham, too. Just a reminder of God-in-control for those of us who hadn’t been paying attention lately.

    Like

Leave a comment