:snapshots of a saturday:

9:19 a.m. – lounging in bed, reading The Poisonwood Bible with no glasses or contacts…blurry letters, blurry thoughts, deliciously half-awake and warm…

11:26 a.m. – off for an afternoon adventure on the broken-down ferry, being pushed by the tugboat Samantha J … four-year-old Julian with his clear brown skin and golden brown eyes stands in the midst of us, watching, watching, watching … to him i must be a grown-up but i feel very young indeed …

12:03 p.m. – “have a good time!” “you too!” “see you later!” and, striding up the street past the grocery store and Chinese restaurant, i’m a-l-o-n-e … the afternoon stretches out before me like pages two to four hundred of a book in which anything can happen … just me! and i can’t help but smile …

4:21 p.m. – bookshelves from floor to ceiling of the antique store on willow street, old pre-loved books with dusty jackets and worn spines … scanning for my old friends … and there, white and pristine, stands Age of Innocence. 10- scribbled in pencil on the flyleaf and it gets tucked under my arm. you’re coming home with me, dear …

5:37 p.m. – i sit on this red slatted bench in the grocery store eating my day-old microwaved burrito and drinking my Jones root beer … tired shopping feet, bags and purse beside me, this cold rainy night aloneness … still i like it … scritch-ding-chirp of cash registers, hum of refrigerator units, incessant bubble gum voices crooning their hearts out through the speakers (their masterpieces the background noise for weekend-weary middle-aged parents deliberating over one percent? two percent? paper? plastic? broccoli? green beans?) … tired fluorescent lighting, speckled dingy floor … a stiff thin paper napkin to wipe my hands clean and i stand up … “goodnight” says the white-haired man in the green apron behind the lottery ticket counter …

6:43 p.m. – waiting on a hard plastic chair in the ferry terminal, i hear the door open and the wiry wizened old Indian with the vacantly light-hearted eyes walks cat-like in, carrying a black garbage bag of who-knows-what … leathery lips crinkle into a smile, a mouthful of yellow teeth and blackened gaps … coarse black hair falls in a scraggly swath from his chin … he mumbles, asks me for six cents and i give him a dime, feeling yet that maybe it should be a ten dollar bill …

{after 11 tonight} – that rebellious thrill … all crowding into the room two down from mine to watch a movie on bryan’s laptop WITHOUT getting permission from the staff … rule-breaking mess-making anything-but-faking … but rebellion, it can be faked with slashed clothes, silver dog-choker necklaces, piercings and artificial hair colouring … hum-diddly-um and all that. i’m so glad i’m 18 … old enough to do stuff but young enough to have so much to look forward to … how i love life, tired fluorescent lights and all!

4 thoughts on “

  1. Katie!
    It’s Hilary-Rose (Bryant)…I so enjoy reading your journal! I found it through Gabriel’s, I hope you don’t mind. I read one of your entries when you were going through old letters, from ages and ages ago, and it made me remember all the stories that we used to make up and play. I hope things are going well with you up in Canada…I look forward to you coming over to the East Coast next year! my livejournal is http://www.livejournal.com/users/rosegrl85 , stop by, comment, let me know how you are! I’d love to hear from you.
    Hilary 🙂

    Like

  2. ohh! 
    In my head as I read of your looks at the books in the store just past four was the thought that I ought to simply dwell in the smell of the must and the dust of the shop that you dropped a mere ten for a friend and I, delighted, decided
    that it must have been very enjoyous indeed.
    this was a grand post and I smiled all the way through it.
    *happy*

    Like

Leave a comment