.:: memorable moments ::.


*Krista opens the last of five presents from James (including a handmade paper kite and two dolls that used to be hers in the first place). “He sure loves you a lot,” I say, hoping like any eldest sister should to foster harmony and gratitude in my younger siblings. Especially since James and Krista are more likely to clobber each other or yell an occasional “shut up” than fairly and lovingly play with each other. (and “shut up” was akin to a cuss word in my childhood mind … what on earth has this family come to …) Kissing the top of Krista’s head, I continue, “Why don’t you give him a hug?” So, with her face glowing, she lunges for James and they wrap their arms around each other fiercely. James grins. “I knew you’d like them!” Krista turns to Mom, her eyes round with surprise. “Mom! Look! We’re hugging!!”


*John hands a large square box to Mom. Her eyes go round with genuine apprehensive horror. “It’s … it’s not a head, is it?”


*I unwittingly elicit belly laughter from Eddie during a merry-Christmas phone call by saying, “Well, don’t you have ice skating rinks where you live?” Later on in the conversation he’s sitting there three thousand miles away experimenting with the movement of his eyebrows when he says “hm”. Laughter was good.


*The day’s nearly over, but Christmas marks a beginning after all. I feel ready for life again. And I used to think I’d hate growing up. It’s true that I’ll never have the same overwhelming wonder about Christmas that I had when I was five, but getting to help create that overwhelming wonder for other five-year-olds … and helping eighty-five-year-olds recapture a bit of that wonder … is good in a different way. Maybe better. It is better, cuz that’s where I’m at in life right now. And it’s awfully jolly indeed.


Merry Christmas, y’all.

5 thoughts on “

  1. !!
    Abby’s  birthday present to Caleb this year was one of her dresses, “For your own daughter, someday, when you get married and have children, and when she’s five,” she reasoned. She also wrapped up a little old book we had already sitting on our bookshelf and handed it to Emilie for Christmas this year. I love that mentality. 😉

    Like

  2. When my sister was about four, she cut out a little picture of a Wizard of Oz movie from a catalog (because she knew I loved Wizard of Oz), wrapped it in toilet paper, and gave it to me for Christmas.  🙂  Another time she gave me some sort of stuffed carrot. 
    It sounds like you guys had a fun Christmas.

    Like

  3. Abby did her shopping at a dollar store (everything’s a dollar) and she found this great glass carrot for Caleb that she insisted on getting for him, to hold his papers down when the wind blew!

    Like

Leave a comment