i like people
(i’ve decided)

well, i do. i like the cashier who comes up every afternoon for her quad venti raspberry white chocolate mocha with the milk steamed to about 135 degrees so she can gulp it down right away — who tells me without fail about her tap-dancing six-year-old son.

i like the guy who bought his three-year-old hot chocolate the other day and sat down in one of the overstuffed chairs and read to him, book after book after book after book from the children’s shelf.

i like my boss leeron, who dances the hula with her numerous hawaiian family members and who talks and talks and talks to all the customers who come through.

i like the older gentleman who politely but specifically asked me to heat up his ceramic mug with hot water before i made his latte in it … and then showed me how to gently shake down the pitcher of steamed milk to get rid of the big bubbles and slowly free-pour it over the espresso so the coffee and foam swirl up together.

i even like alicia. bear that in mind as i describe her as a petite version of kathryn brooke (or for you non-anne devotees, a miniature drill sergeant who commands by silent stare). i don’t know her, really. i don’t even know what job she holds, but i do know that something in me wants to make her smile, make her laugh, make her open her eyes wide with delighted surprise — make her order a venti mocha with whipped cream instead of her daily double tall nonfat latte.

so. what kinds of people do you like?

4 thoughts on “

  1. That was such a lovely post!Hm… people really interest me, they are God’s creation after all, and a marvel to behold. He’s made them all so different in their characters, features and quirks… I love customer contact jobs too!I like the couple who come in with a sea of children running around the store and then look knowingly at you at the register and lovingly refuse high pitched pleas for candy and toys as they buy what they really came in for.I like the two older ladies with their Olive Garden luncheon routine that is followed religiously by a rent a few movies tradition.I like the kid who laughs when he comes into the store three times in a day to rent different games and talks about how quickly he beat each one.I like the guy who delivers our Airborne Express deliveries, coming in with grease on his shirt from helping someone along the road with a flat tire.I love to see the guy who brings our weekly shipment of new stuff–despite being weary to the core by the time he makes it to our place, he chats amicably and jokes and waits patiently while I count everything and sign his papers.I like the Magazine delivery guy grins from ear to ear and remembers my name when he dumps off his box and then runs to the truck when he gets out the door.I love my fellow employees who dance to the music, or laugh uncontrollable.I like my manager who battles against me with witty retorts and calls me skippy and sparky to make me mad–we have fun.I love my family.I love people on Xanga who share so many cool thoughts and amusing tidbits of their lives, and through whose words the Spirit of the Lord blazes forth.

    Like

  2. I like people who listen to you rather than ignoring you while they think of their next line.I like people with something to tell you, and not just something to say.I like people who take in new things.I like people who have new things to share.I’m sure there are more, but those are the ones that were still in my head after the first brainstorm. Some got dropped on the floor during the process, but I’ll prolly think of them again in a little while.

    Like

  3. Correction..the link under ‘dropped on the floor’ was supposed to point here instead. I was browsing several other pages at the same time and I didn’t double-check the address I pasted. : p

    Like

Leave a comment