yesterday was pretty fantastic as yesterdays go — although it really all started tuesday night. you see, around eleven p.m. i suddenly realized that a little heartfelt prayer for employment couldn’t hurt anything. actually, it was more like, “GOD! i don’t know what else to do! would You please open the door for me, or open my eyes to new opportunities, or make my heart soft to learn whatever You’re teaching me?” and then afterwards i asked myself why i hadn’t spoken to Him sooner.

so yesterday morning, i called tully’s to reiterate my extreme interest in a barista position. lo and behold, the manager said “kate! i was just about to call you to schedule an interview.” WHAT?! haha, nice one, God. so we set it up for 1:30 today and there was much rejoicing (from both myself and my parents.)

fast forward to twelve thirty. we’d just finished listening to kelli’s chamber music concert at school when fred meyer called. beautiful words, beautiful words. “hi!” said the hiring manager. “can you come in today at 2:30?” “i’d love to,” said i. so i did, and guess what? my boss, stephanie, just needed to administer the drug test and fill out some paperwork. and she hired me for fifty cents more per hour than i made last summer, and i start on saturday, and i’ll only be in the deli for a week and starbucks the rest of the summer, and i already have my food handler’s permit and i don’t have to join the union and praise the Lord, i have a job!

and then at youth group, i tied with becky and kayli for first place in the costume contest. they really deserved it more than i did: becky was a funky princess with a fluorescent green tulle petticoat, a tiara, and hot pink fur-trimmed rubber gloves. kayli was a sock-hoppin’ poodle-skirt-wearin’ gal, complete with bangles and a scarf. and i was a cat. without a tail, even. (note: braided shoelaces do not look like any sort of animal tail.) but i wore all black and borrowed kelli’s cat ears and used up the rest of my eyeliner drawing whiskers. (blast. it was such good eyeliner, too.) and we won a box of chocolates and played mafia and altogether, things are tres bien, cherie.


Life is short, but it’s also wide. –Genevieve Whitman in The Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood

4 thoughts on “

  1. yippeeeeee!!!! and by the way.. i’m sorry about the other day on aim.. my computer was being moody (as usual). i was really looking forward to talking to you, so that was poo. oh well, hopefully i’ll talk to you soon!!

    Like

  2. ha ha! you can join the barista club with me. except, well, i’m not an official barista, just a java coast fine coffees barista. which isn’t up to starbucks standards (of training, at the very least) but don’t tell anyone you heard it from me.
    good luck on your newest employment! may the money-making force be with you!

    Like

Leave a comment