Cead mile failte romhat!


according to my online gaelic translator, that means “a hundred thousand welcomes to you!” it’ll take me a little longer than twenty-five hours on irish soil before the words roll freely off my tongue, but already i feel at home. something about the vibrant green grass, the roiling river that makes my ollscoil (university) an island unto itself, the low grey clouds, the gentle murmur of irish voices …


unfortunately, dad and i need to make our escape from the fast-filling computer lab (conference attendees and actual students take precedence over our leisurely email-checking), but sometime soon i’ll write about our lovely hostess mary (and the huge breakfast she cooked us), her little dog rollo, and the irish tv station that broadcast a gaelic version of “dora the explorer” to us while i ate my hazelnut yogurt (!) and dad stirred his coffee (which he pronounced “not starbucks, but still good.”)


missing you all, especially a certain handsome organist.

7 thoughts on “

  1. KATIE!!

    So happy to hear you’re there, safe, and enjoying it!
    I need a mailing address, I’ll send you overseas mail!!
    *methinks if I sent it now, you would get it by the time I you were ready to leave…*

    Like

  2. Isn’t Ireland so beautiful?? And I love the language. Where exactly are you at? When you go to Ath Cliath (Dublin), don’t be weirded out when the River Liffey “disappears” – I know I was! And just because the lights change does NOT mean it’s okay to cross the street! And The Spire definitely is The Pointless Point. Be sure to visit plenty of pubs – there are over 800 in Dublin alone! Nancy Hands is good. You should try a WKD Blue, if you drink at all. And St. Patrick’s Cathedral is breathtaking, except for all the souvenir stands in it.Oh, I’m so sorry…this turned out to be so long. But in short, Ireland is beautiful – enjoy every minute of it!

    Like

Leave a comment