*happy sigh*


today i nearly consumed my body weight in cornflakes and chocolate, streaked a throat swab on whole blood agar to test for Strep. vividans and a nose swab on mannitol salt agar to test for Staph. epidermidis, bought a pirate skirt and beaded belt which will go very nicely with my scimitar (yes… kate geiger is being a pirate wench for halloween), got the next round for angie, claire and i (no…not alcohol: dark chocolate bounty, crunchie, and toffee crunch bars respectively), sang  – and meant – “Jesus, be the center”, played twister with ten laughing girls, manuevered an after-eight square from my forehead into my mouth using only my facial muscles, and drank two cups of proper irish tea while listening to andrea expound upon the theology of saint ignatius.


spirits seem to be stirring tonight. as i left the chapel, the old wooden door was caught by the unusually warm wind before it could ease shut; like a broken bone, it stuck out motionless from the rest of the building as the wanton breezes roiled in. setting out across the bridge seemed the first solemn maneuver in an esoteric quest. the river lay black and still beneath, wrinkled like cooled tar. on the far shore, the leaves hissed and writhed under the gaze of the jaundiced street lights. but if i had my pirate skirt, i’d slip away from their unseeing eyes and seek some riotous adventure on the inky water …

4 thoughts on “

  1. my goodness darling Katydid,
    two entries in the space of one day?
    you make me proud.
    lol.
    No…seriously, I’m glad you’re having an amazingly awesome time. It makes me very happy to hear you happy… one day, I too shall have adventures..perhaps even with you?
    I feel young.

    Like

  2. your adventures sound like a large time is being had by all. so glad you’re having fun! keep up the good stories. 🙂

    oh yea! i just remembered i had a dream about your whole family last night…you had adopted two little babies from indonesia.

    Like

  3. you should write a book. Forget John Banville, MY favorite author is Katie Geiger. If you DO write a book, I insist that you autograph the inside cover and send me a copy of it post haste. But please make sure you package it well, or it’s liable to get swiped by a jealous post master, whom really only wants some good literature, but in the process of getting it is stealing it from me! I would be very upset with him first, and probably track your book, which had become my book, to… i’m thinking probably a little town called… Cork. Yes, the postmaster of Cork has stolen my book, and I want it back! Of course, he would become quite exasperated with trying to read such ponderous words as esoteric and.. um.. maneuver (they are very nice in Cork, but quite simple), and give it to a lovely little girl by the name of Eva to read, for she is quite well-versed in literature, and would be sure to enjoy it. Upon arriving at little Eva’s door I realize what a darling girl it is that has stolen my book, and I feel not a little bit of doubt about whether or not it would be such a kind thing to take it back. At this point I would realize that the one and only Ms./Mrs./Miss Katie Geiger (it takes a while to write a book, you never know what could happen) is only the span of Ireland away from me, so I just go and get another one. Wouldn’t that be aweseom!!! I’d get to visit you!If you write a book, I’d have to come and get it.To come and get teh book, I’d have to go to Ireland.So, If you write a book, I’d have to go to Ireland.Tell me that’s not perfect logic!!

    Like

Leave a comment