shaken and [di]stirr[b]ed

about twenty minutes ago I had one of the most unsettling encounters of my life. the only other times my insides have been a-roiling were when I visited a mental hospital in romania, and when some crossroads friends and I were in that car accident in february. but this time, I feel personally and emotionally attacked.


I was waiting in line at barnes and noble when a man came up next to me and said, “excuse me, miss? that outfit looks very nice on you.” I said a very cautious thank you because something about his squinty brown eyes made my womanly instincts stiffen, but he walked away immediately and I was left to wonder if, as mom used to inform me during hours-long dressing room sessions, the outfit was a little “too nice.” I’m wearing a fairly form-fitting shirt whose neckline can ride down if I don’t pay attention, but upon a quick inspection, it proved to be providing superb coverage — and it’s certainly not gotten me stares before. then, my purple flowing Gypsy skirt from ireland that doesn’t cling at all and comes to my ankles. and flipflops. in other words, if he was a creep, mine was not the body upon which his eyes ought to prey.


but “ought to” is no recipe for action. I hadn’t made it two feet out of the store before he came up behind me and said in a very surprised tone, “oh! haha! we meet again!” I graced him with a half-smile and kept walking. “I hope you’re not upset that I’m talking to you,” continued El Creepo, “but I just couldn’t help staring. what’s your name?”


now at this juncture I hesitated, but deciding that he couldn’t do anything heinous with that information, told him. He said, “I’m stan” and I said, “nice to meet you,” which was a lie, but he wasn’t crowding my personal bubble and there were plenty of people around so I felt unjustified in picking up my ice queen crown. (why do I make it such a priority to Appear Nice to other people?)


then he said, “do you mind if I ask you a personal question?”


I mentally glanced at my ice queen crown — definitely within reach. “You can ask me, but I may not answer.”


“well, I just couldn’t help noticing the way you’re built. and I was wondering, what size are you?”


that poor ice queen crown got the fright of its life then, because it went from a few months’ slumber on a dusty shelf of my psyche to the very top of my head in about point-three seconds. “that I do not feel comfortable answering,” said I, and walked faster. “alright!” said his voice, now a few steps behind me. “I’m sorry. have a good day.”


“you too,” I said, and kept walking. and he went his separate way and I’m sure I’ll never see him again. but I have never been so overtly objectified in my life. my conscience can’t even utter a “tsk tsk — this is why we wear modest clothes!” because I am. to those of my friends who have experienced actual sexual abuse, my encounter must seem laughably insignificant, and that makes me cry for you because this is significant, and your wounds are even deeper. and I’m truly sorry if this story is like sand in those wounds, but at the same time, I’m so angry and devastated and now I understand just a tiny bit of what you have survived. when perverted, the most beautiful things — like a husband’s delight in his wife — are sickening.


I wish I hadn’t told him my name.

6 thoughts on “shaken and [di]stirr[b]ed

  1. 1st.
    your encounter does not seem laughably insignificant… it is significant. and if you hide your wounds on the grounds that it might hurt another to see them, those wounds fester until they are all that’s left. thank you for not hiding them, and i’m horribly terribly sorry that happened to you, most precious of God’s creations.
    2nd.
    i do wish you hadn’t told him your name as well; your name does not belong in such a miscreant’s mouth. however, what is done is done, and after all a name is not so much–how well you did to protect yourself before answering his other questions! for if your name was too much information for El Creepo (and, in fact, it was), how much more so is information that countless other girls do not share with you?
    3rd.
    i love you. just thought you’d like the reminder: i know it helps me to hear it when i suffer injustices such as this one.
    4th.
    who cares if you Appear Nice or not? darling, God gave you a woman’s intuition to take care of your woman’s body, spirit and mind. or perhaps its better said, God gave you the Holy Spirit that He might warn you of imminent danger from men who approach proper young ladies in stores.
    5th.
    i really do love you. and i am truly sorry that happened to you. now is the time when you cuddle with nick and read proverbs 31 and remember that that tells you who you are–as a woman and as a person. not some man claiming to be named stan who approached you in or around a barnes and noble bookstore.

    call me if you need any more reminders of this, or to download. you’ve got my number… and my love.

    Like

  2. oh my gosh, babe, I’m sorry. men can be so sick. the world is so broken and you were right about the beautiful things the Lord has designed for good being used for evil.love youcall me some time. i have something I would very much like to tell you.**doffs her cap and vanishes**

    Like

  3. Let me at’im, Let me at’im.  I think the cowardly Lion said that, but this “Mama Bear” is up on her hind legs.  I am so sorry, sweetie.  And as another piece of your idealism “grows up” (and sadly, but necessarily so) — there is nothing at all wrong with the ice queen as regards men who are strangers to you.  No eye contact, no verbal response.  No casting your precious pearls before swine.  I LOVE YOU!!!!!!!

    Like

  4. this happened to you!?!?!! just let me have five seconds with that stupid wormy freak! he’d come out with a bloody nose, two black eyes, a split lip, very bad hearing loss, and anything else you can do to a person that isn’t very nice. i can’t believe that… ugh!! things like this make me so angry and ashamed at what our human race has come to be… the male part of it anyway. if anything EVER happens like that again… that jerk can say his last prayers, trust me!!

    Like

Leave a comment