worn out, wasted, like a bird with broken wings.
sometimes, grace reminds me, 
i don’t get to be the King. 


but love it washes over,
love it pulls me closer.
love it changes everything. 


so everything is beautiful,
even when the tears are falling, 
i don’t need a miracle to believe.
even in the crashing down, 
i can hear redemption calling,
and everything is beautiful to me. 


sweetly, You release me,
from the weight of what i’ve done.
the trigger trips the hammer,
but the bullets never come.

and love is like a landslide,
like the wind, spins around me,
pulls me in, at it’s unveiling, i begin.


right now, everything is beautiful to me. it’s a quarter after ten and our amazing chocolate cake creation is diligently cooling on the back porch. it’s devil’s food cake with chocolate chips and marshmallows and chocolate frosting, and it’s going to be the first entry in our new cookbook. chrissy and i did the dishes and then sat on our red kitchen chairs to discuss various weighty matters while it was cooking, and amyboots left for a party at jon baker’s and i might go too… doesn’t it sound delicious to leave for a party at 10:30 pm? the laundry should be finished in a bit anyway.


and you all should read walking the bible by bruce feiler. it’s utterly fascinating. in my next life, maybe i’ll be an archaeologist!

One thought on “

  1. Chocolate Cake!!!??? I’m so jealous of you right now, my dearest Katie friend. My mouth is watering, too. Since several of us over here are striving to be on a diet, I’ve been band from all such beautiful and yummy desserts. And pudding is rather boring. *sigh* Oh, ’tis a hard thing, not being able to eat yummy things.
    Do you know? Things are going rather splendidly for me over here as well. I just got hired as an English tutor at BCC, and I’m going to meet my first student tomorrow and we might even start then. *heehee* I’ll be helping two ESL students this quarter–and I’ll be making decent money an hour, too! Isn’t that totally awesome!? I’m excited about it!
    Love you!! *hugs*

    Like

Leave a comment