man may trouble and distress me, ’twill but drive me to Thy breast.
life with trials hard may press me; heaven will bring me sweeter rest.
oh, ’tis not in grief to harm me while Thy love is left to me;
oh, ’twere not in joy to charm me, were that joy unmixed with Thee.

go, then, earthly fame and treasure, come disaster, scorn and pain
in Thy service, pain is pleasure, with Thy favor, loss is gain
i have called Thee Abba, Father, i have stayed my heart on Thee
storms may howl and clouds may gather; all must work for good to me.

soul, then know thy full salvation; rise o’er sin and fear and care
joy to find in every station, something still to do or bear.
think what Spirit dwells within thee, think what Father’s smiles are thine,
think that Jesus died to win thee. child of heaven, canst thou repine?

Henry Lyte, “Jesus, I My Cross Have Taken”

super good speaker at Crossroads tonight. Haggai’s a fantastic book.

Leave a comment