foffee

around the same time i referred to magazines as “mazagines”, nick was calling coffee “foffee”. and this year, i’ve added “foffee” to my vocabulary, along with other fantastic words like crepitus, whispered pectoriloquy, caput medusae, and bullous pemphigoid. it’s just such a fabulous beverage, in all its permutations. for example, on saturday morning, i awoke at 6 a.m. on julie’s couch with reams of neuroscience notes staring superciliously up at me. it was rather rude of me to fall asleep on them, but it didn’t deter me from falling back asleep until 11. at that point the sun was streaming in through the living room windows, and julie emerged from her bedroom with a huge smile on her face. “good morning, kate!” and she hopped into the kitchen and worked her wizardry, filling the apartment with the smells of Real Breakfast. to wit, a mushroom-and-onion egg scramble, cinnamon raisin toast, and freshly brewed coffee. no better way to start the day.


and on sunday, i had the distinct pleasure of introducing a customer to cafe con panna (which is how i prefer mine). all you do is pour a blackety-black cup of joe and then top it with a perfect, quivering mountain of whipped cream. this bliss can too be yours for $1.55 at your local starbucks!


and yesterday, i concocted what may be the best drink ever: a grande three-pump nonfat with whip peppermint white mocha. except i kind of hate ordering it, because it kind of makes me seem like one of those crazy half-caf ristretto no-foam extra-hot bone dry cappucino people who you want to shake because it isn’t possible to have a bone dry cappucino without foam. nevertheless, my drink is delicious, and it energized me to do fabulous lung exams on jon and julie last night, which enabled me to breeze through my lung competency today. i highly suggest it.


and now i must sweet-talk those neglected neuroscience notes into lodging themselves securely in my memory for tomorrow’s 8 a.m. exam! i sense even more foffee in my future…

4 thoughts on “foffee

  1. I have full confidence in your gift of gab to coax any old nueroscience note into doing just about anything.
    I love this post.
    PS Black Books season 3 just came in the mail today from Amazon.com!

    Bernard, it’s hot in the worm!

    Like

Leave a comment