{Tuesday, January 20, 3:56 p.m.}

This has been quite the week. I’ve eaten the most delicious blackberry jam on biscuits, dropped my purple pom-pom hat in a toilet, and consumed numerous strawberry Hall’s throat lozenges (I dodged it since September, but sickness has struck at last). I’ve accidentally broken our Room 4 extra-sugars fast by eating a thoughtless cookie after church and am now suffering the consequences as meted out to me by my three merciless judges: no sugar at all for the rest of the week. We had the most flaky, soft, moist apple danish for dessert on Sunday evening … and I couldn’t have even one eensy weensy taste. I’ve finished The Piano Tuner by Daniel Mason and started The Problem of Pain by C.S. Lewis and learned the word avuncular which means “like an uncle”.  I’ve gotten told that I have a little happy aura cuz I live in my own little happy orb, and I got my Chopin fix (which means playing five nocturnes whose numbers I can’t remember now).

Tonight we are having Good Times Casserole for supper – a dish that has never before appeared on the menu or on our tables. Good Times Casserole. This intrigues me. Frankly, this scares me a little. Actually, this makes me think of some unidentifiable monoflavoured dish that might be served to the residents of a nursing home. “As soon as we’re finished Bingo, we’ll go right to the dining room for some Good Times Casserole!” Whatever the true nature of Good Times Casserole, to which I will refer from hereon as GTC, the fact remains that the menu for Wednesday’s breakfast clearly lists waffles and berry sauce and in this fact I find inestimable comfort.

I can’t believe I even thought of what just went through my head. Well, here it is folks – a hearty encouragement to Let the Good Times (casse)Role! Do please groan. But nevertheless I hope, for your sakes, there are lots of good times heading your way, since y’all are dearly chocolatey friends. Till next week!


<edit> GTC turned out to be baked spaghetti with meat sauce and cheddar cheese and green onions all mixed in! How about that. Yay! </edit>

6 thoughts on “

  1. no sugar at all for a whole week?! And here I am consuming about three chocolate bars a day… plus a cookie or two. lol Well, I hope you manage to make it to next Sunday!

    Like

  2. That is amazing, Katie. Not even a Mike and Ike in remembrance of someone far away? LOL! Like Ashley said, “Here I am consuming…” well, let’s just say it would be enough to make any dentist flip! But hey! It won’t matter any more after Monday! Don’t worry, you are not alone in this “sugar fast.” There are two here at my house that would sympathize with you, I’m sure. Can you guess the two? I’ll give you a hint: It’s not me! LOL!

    Like

  3. I didn’t groan over the ‘let the good times [casse]role’ remark. Oh dear… I found it ticklishly funny.
    And I hope you had the strength of character, mind and body to reach in with your hand to retrieve your purple pompom hat from the toilet abyss. Have I ever told you about thrusting my arm down a hotel toilet in search of a friend who I was sure had gotten flushed down? (Actually… she hadn’t, and I wasn’t convinced myself, to believe any such thing. Rather, I was trying to convince Abby that Sarah had been flushed. I removed my arm when Sarah ran in from the other room after sloshing herself with water from a different sink, much out of breath. The water she sloshed upon herself to appear as though she’d been flushed. The out-of-breathedness because if one were to really be flushed, one would be inclined to be out of breath. Anyway. When she ran in exclaiming about her trip down the toilet, I decided it was high time to remove my hand and arm and clean myself up. Abby didn’t know what to think.)
    And yes. I did get your letter.

    Like

  4. of course I reached in and pulled it out! and Rachel, yes, I can guess who those two people might be. but our sugar fast is off for now, which is a good thing because we had midnight brownies for dessert last night. midnight brownies = dark chocolate walnutey cherry-filled bliss. pretty much!

    Like

Leave a comment