{Monday, March 1, 3:51 p.m.}

today i am resting. the morning began with sitting on a white-painted bench by the flagpole and reading from Numbers and Mark as the sun rose high and warm overhead. brunch was good: bran flakes, eggs, orange juice, innumerable green grapes, cold and crisp and stretched tight with flavour. joy comes in the very reality of life such as this worn beige towel draped over my arm as i scurry through the kitchen drying dishes and putting them away, and, paradox of paradoxes, it is possible – indeed highly gratifying – to scurry while remaining at rest.

the whole afternoon, then, free to sit on my purple towel on the grass and feel the sun dot freckles on my face as i finished some assignments and watched the glittering water. to walk up here and wait for beth to trim my hair while watching the happy baby fir trees lift their arms to the light and listening to my friend seyoung hum “it is well with my soul” under her breath.  to smile at everyone and everything knowing that He has given double honour, that instead of my confusion i shall rejoice in my portion, that everlasting joy shall be mine, because HE has chosen to rebuild, restore, remake me. today i am resting.

7 thoughts on “

  1. that is, your blogging IS happy and faraway, but not a dream.
    somethings just don’t come out the right way the first time.

    Like

  2. I got your letter on Tuesday–and the photo you sent is gorgeous!  So now I can actually picture you sitting there next to the water.
    I love “It is well with my soul”–and this post, too. But then, your posts are always great. 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi, Katie! I can so imagine everything you talk about too..cause I’ve been there! Say, I meant to ask you while I was there…what did  you think of Nichole Nordeman’s “Why”? (That was the song that began, “we rode into town the other day, just me and my daddy…” and it was about Christ’s crucifixion.) Did you like it?

    Like

  4. <TABLE id=HB_Mail_Container height=”100%” cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width=”100%” border=0 UNSELECTABLE=”on”>
    <TBODY>
    <TR height=”100%” width=”100%” UNSELECTABLE=”on”>
    <TD id=HB_Focus_Element vAlign=top width=”100%” background=”” height=250 UNSELECTABLE=”off”>it is amazing how the grace of God can make anything rest
    <TR UNSELECTABLE=”on” hb_tag=”1″>
    <TD style=”FONT-SIZE: 1pt” height=1 UNSELECTABLE=”on”>

    Like

  5. it was one of those nurturous, virtuous days. Rachel, i’m afraid i don’t remember all the lyrics (and thus the content) of “Why”, but since it’s a Nichole Nordeman song I’m sure I do like it …

    Like

Leave a comment