{Monday, March 15, 3:54 p.m.}

‘Tis the Ides of March and the sky is cloudy! However, the sun has shone brilliantly for the past few days and as a result I am the proud owner of a faint farmer’s tan and of a dozen new freckles across the bridge of my nose. Does it seem ages since I’ve talked with y’all? I feel almost as if the rest of the world doesn’t exist any more, for spring break is in full swing here at Capernwray Harbour and what sometimes feels like an isolated island school has blossomed into an entire world of cooking, laundry, dishes, cleaning, bed-making, and general hospitality. While most students scatter off to their respective leisure pursuits during our two and a half week spring break, the few, the proud, the seasonal domestic staff (including yours truly) stay on to run the place for our retreat and conference guests. Interesting guests, and when I say interesting, I mean interesting. Just this afternoon the ferry brought over a group of thirty quilters whose daily schedule is Breakfast-Quilting-Lunch-Quilting-Supper-Quilting-Snack-Bed.

Although I have never done so much simple hard work in my life before, I have also never had quite such a fun experience. Cleaning six bathrooms or making forty beds is, in fact, extremely enjoyable when you are working with a crew who all have imaginary headset radios. Case in point: This afternoon while turning off a very high powered hose that was resting in the sink, I accidentally disturbed its delicate equilibrium and the hose (and hot water) began gushing all over the floor. Did I panic, you ask? I reply that YOU’RE a panic and your mom is too! I simply remarked into my headset: “Dancing Dolphin to Running Rhino, do you copy? I need backup, stat!” And Running Rhino came running in a rhino-like fashion, as is her wont, and The Great Kitchen Flood was thankfully averted.

Dearly beloved, I need to skedaddle. We’re serving a formal supper tonight and I must be clad in black from head to toe (excepting the white apron edged with ruffles – I kid you not). Not only must I be clad in black from head to toe, but I must be clad in black from head to toe in precisely five minutes so! More later, if I get a chance to write! Hugs and eskimo kisses!

3 thoughts on “

  1. Oh! I just heard you called. I’m sorry, Katie! I was at the Land’s house helping Dad return Buddy. I had had him at my house while the Lands were in Missouri. Maybe next time, eh?

    Like

Leave a comment